Setting Signup Policy and Default Permissions

You can choose a signup method that fits the purpose of your space and set the default permissions granted to new users.

Signup policy settings


1. Setting Whether Signup Is Allowed

SettingDescription
Allow (ON)Anyone can sign up by visiting the space address.
Disallow (OFF)Signup is not possible. The admin must create accounts directly and share them.

For information on how to add new user accounts, see the Inviting Users document.

2. Setting the Account Activation Method

If signup is allowed, you can choose the activation method after signup.

MethodDescription
Immediate activationUsers can access the space immediately after signing up.
Activation after approvalUsers can access the space only after an admin approves them.
SituationSignupActivation Method
Team/external partner collaborationONActivation after approval
Community operationONImmediate activation
Confidential projectsOFFActivation after approval

Setting Default Permissions for New Users

You can select the default permissions granted to newly signed-up users.

The permission items you can configure are as follows.

  • View
  • Create file
  • Edit
  • Delete
  • Download
  • Share
  • Delete
  • Execute

File edit, delete, and download permissions are powerful, so choose them carefully.